Latest Activity


Charity Clothing Store in KZN

June 08, 2018 Ramadaan 1439/2018
Gift of the Givers and Caring Sisters Network spent the last week sorting brand new clothing. The first group of recipients from the Greater Edendale area in Pietermaritzburg arrived to choose items. A total of 502…

Shoes, Blankets and Food Parcels Delivered to Kliptown

June 06, 2018 Ramadaan 1439/2018
Gift of the Givers distributes Ramadaan food parcels in Kliptown to 200 Madressa and local residents who received 2 pairs of shoes and a TFG blanket each.

Fita Parcels to George and Mossel Bay

June 06, 2018 Ramadaan 1439/2018
200 Fitra Parcels delivered to George and Mossel Bay, Western Cape.

Blind Village in Hajah, Yemen

June 05, 2018 Ramadaan 1439/2018
The Blind Village in Hajah, Yemen receives 110 food parcels for Ramadaan.


Projects - Primary Health Care Clinics

"If the people cannot get to health services then the health services must get to the people"

This was the philosophy behind the innovation of the world's first containerised primary health care unit by Gift of the Givers Foundation in 1994. Cost effective, all weather proof, low maintenance, easily transportable, rapidly deployed, aesthetically acceptable and conveniently accessible. This was the rationale behind this practically relevant innovation which led to efficient utilisation by rural masses in South Africa.

Deploying the prototype in PARTNERSHIP with the South African Government in May 1995, in Kwa Pata, Edendale, Pietermaritzburg (KwaZulu Natal), 20 such units were deployed in a 10 year period in various parts of South Africa, collectively averaging 500 000 patients per year. Services include minor ailments, immunisations, wound treatments, burn care, screening for hypertension and diabetes, pap smears, antenatal care, counselling services, specialist psychiatric care for the elderly, TB patient follow up and a range of primary care services.

Other units include Alexandra, Tembisa (3), Atteridgeville, Kagiso, Eikenhof, Koolfontein, Ratanda, Rietvallei, Tarlton, Zenzele and Badirile (Gauteng); Botshabelo (Free State); Emfundweni (KwaZulu Natal); Riemvasmaak, Holpan and Barkly West(2) (Northern Cape).

  • pic1
  • pic2